Nobody’s Calling


Nikt nie woła
reż|dir Kazimierz Kutz | PL | 1960 | 86 min
prod|pro Tadeusz Karwański scen|wr Józef Hen zdj|ph Jerzy Wójcik muz|mus Wojciech Kilar mon|ed Irena Choryńska ob|cast Zofia Marcinkowska, Henryk Boukołowski, Barbara Krafftówna, Halina Mikołajska, Ryszard Pietruski dys|dis KADR


Post-war Poland. A young man comes to a small, ruined town and tries to start a new life. He is also trying to escape from the past – he did not obey an order and he did not kill the man who was sentenced to death. When the members of the resistance catches on to him he runs away, but promises his beloved Lucyna that he will come back when he will be safe. An adaptation of Józef Hen's prose, perceived by some viewers and critics as an ‘alternative choice’ by Maciej Chełmicki from Andrzej Wajda's Ashes and Diamonds. The book was published in 1990! An innovative in form, aesthetic and artistic black-and-white film – a forerunner for New Wave cinema achievement – picture was badly received by audiences and critics. It has been also banned from appearing at foreign festivals. A debut for score composer Wojciech Kilar. 

Kazimierz Kutz (1929-2018) He is an outstanding Polish film, television and theatre director, columnist, writer and politician. Graduate of the Directing Department of the State Higher School of Film, Television and Theatre in Łódź. Representative of the Polish Film School, co-founder of the Polish Filmmakers Association. He was strongly connected with his native Silesia, to which he devoted six films, including Silesian triptych Salt of the Black Earth, Pearl in the Crown and Beads of One Rosary. Winner of numerous Polish and foreign awards, including the special Polish Film Award Orzeł (Eagle) and Platynowe Lwy (Platinum Lions) for his artistic achievements.

1995 Pułkownik Kwiatkowski|Colonel Kwiatkowski
1994 Zawrócony|The Convert
1994 Śmierć jak kromka chleba|Death as a Slice of Bread
1979 Paciorki jednego różańca|The Beads of One Rosary
1971 Perła w koronie|Pearl in the Crown
1969 Sól ziemi czarnej|Salt of The Black Earth
1966 Ktokolwiek wie|Whoever May Know
1963 Milczenie|Silence
1961 Ludzie z pociągu|Panic on a Train
1960 Nikt nie woła|Nobody’s Calling
1958 Krzyż Walecznych|Cross of Valor

© Festiwal Filmu i Sztuki Dwa Brzegi Kazimierz Dolny Janowiec nad Wisłą
Projekt i realizacja: Tomasz Żewłakow